top of page

Project SoundKrone - A Rhythm Game


Video Link: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eoQHDY4ztok

Final Year Project Minor was a place where I got a chance to try out something different. I was encouraged by the lecturer to try my hands on a rhythm game, given that I know a little bit of music theory.

I underestimated the task quite badly. Synchronizing the game mechanics together with the music took me a whooping 5 weeks.

Why 5 weeks?

There are a lot of mechanics to think about, from calculating the number of crochets (or notes) in a bar to the tempo of the music.

It was then that I realized that making a rhythm game is anything but simple.

For the next 12 weeks, I went on to source music from the public domain and build a menu interface to make it a proper game. As it was a solo project, it demanded a lot of time management since the result was based on how much effort I put in.

As a developer, I would know the controls inside out. But without proper instructions, many of the playtesters were not able to play the game properly and that I had to explain it to them before they could overcome the level.

It was then that I realized how important it is to have an interactive tutorial level, something that I took for granted whenever I play other games.

So this is the story of my final year project minor.

Designing games with proper game mechanics and tutorials is something that anyone can do.

Designing games with proper game mechanics, tutorials AND making it fun is something that needs a lot of dedication and careful planning.

bottom of page